Community Services of Northeast Texas, Inc. Head Start Policy Council Meeting Minutes Wednesday January 24, 2018 9:15am Linden Administrative Offices 304 East Houston Linden, Texas

PC Attendance	Campus	Title	Sep-17	Nov-17	Dec-17	Jan-18
Chairperson - Tamaithia Sartor			х	Х	х	х
Vice Chairperson - Olivia Woodruff			X	X	X	
Secretary - Stacy Guerrero			X	X	X	х
Brenda Swisher	Board Liaison/CC	Representative	Х	Х	Х	Х
April Bennett	Morris County	Representative			х	х
Tamaithia Sartor	Atlanta Head Start	Representative	Х	Х	х	Х
Amber Kimbriel	Atlanta Head Start	Alternate				
Courtney Crow	Bloomburg	Representative		х	х	
Kimberly Jordan	Bloomburg	Alternate				х
Stacy Guerrero	D/LS	Representative	Х	х	х	х
Shayla Peters	D/LS	Alternate				
Tia Goodwin	Hughes Springs	Representative	Х		х	
Peggy Peters	Hughes Springs	Alternate				х
Olivia Woodruff	Linden	Representative	Х	х	х	
Dawn Hansche	Linden	Alternate				
Whitney Williams	Naples	Representative				
Kassi Croley	Naples	Alternate				
Jessica Wilson	New Boston	Representative	Х		х	х
Sondra Lyon	New Boston	Alternate				
Liliana Hernandez	Pittsburg	Representative	Х	Х	х	Х
Dwight White	Pittsburg	Alternate				
Daniela Salazar	Texarkana	Representative	Х	Х	х	Х
Gwendolyn "Brandy" Ross	Texarkana	Alternate				

Others in attendance: CSNT Staff: Dan Boyd, Bernadette Harris, Bridgette Grandmaison, Shelley Mitchell, Charlotte Hall, Susan Horner, Kaye Nelms, and Jennifer Campbell Public: Jay Hanson

- Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by Tamaithia Sartor, Policy Council Chairperson at 9:17 am January 24, 2018 in the Linden Administrative Conference Room.
- 2. <u>Recognize New Policy Council Members:</u> Kimberly Jordan Bloomburg Head Start Alternate and Peggy Peters Hughes Springs Head Start Alternate

3. Establishment of Quorum:

Quorum was established with the following Policy Council Members present: April Bennett, Peggy Peters, Jessica Wilson, Kimberly Jordan, Liliana Hernandez, Brenda Swisher, Tamaithia Sartor, Stacy Guererro and Daniela Salazar

4. Approval of Agenda:

Members reviewed the agenda. Executive session 12 moved ahead of action item 9 on the agenda. April Bennett moved to accept the agenda with moving the executive session before the action items. The motion was seconded by Stacy Guerrero. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

5. Approval of Minutes from December 6, 2017:

April Bennett moved to approve the minutes of the December 6, 2017 meeting as presented. The motion was seconded by Jessica Wilson. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

6. Presentations:

A. Texarkana Head Start

Moved to the February Meeting

B. Pittsburg Head Start

Kaye Nelms, Pittsburg Campus Director, reviewed the information on the slide show. The slide show highlighted the year at Pittsburg Head Start which included the Fall Festival, Callie's Acres Field Trip, Male Involvement Activities, and Nutrition Activities.

C. Eligibility Final Rule Training

Bridgette Grandmaison trained the members on the eligibility requirements.

7. Reports:

A. Financial Report - Shelley Mitchell

Shelley Mitchell gave the Financial Report as presented.

B. Head Start Director Report - Bernadette Harris

Bernadette Harris gave the Head Start Director report as presented.

C. Executive Directors Report

None

8. Committee Report:

A. Appoint Committee Members

None

2017-2018 List of Committees

Self-Assessment

Liliana Hernandez- Policy Council Tia Goodwin- Policy Council Donna Early - Governing Board Gus Gustafson- Governing Board

Community Assessment

Olivia Woodruff– Policy Council Gus Gustafson – Governing Board April Bennett– Governing Board

Finance Committee

April Bennett - Policy Council Donna Early – Governing Board Kim Cook– Governing Board Brant Allen – Governing Board

School Readiness Committee

Daniela Salazar - Policy Council Tia Goodwin – Policy Council Judge Munkres– Governing Board Gus Gustafson – Governing Board Donna Early – Governing Board Raegan Lee - Governing Board Brenda Swisher – Governing Board

ERSEA Committee

Tia Goodwin - Policy Council Kim Cook – Governing Board Gus Gustafson – Governing Board April Bennett – Governing Board

Strategic Planning Committee

Jessica Wilson– Policy Council Ross Hyde– Governing Board Gus Gustafson – Governing Board

Health Advisory Committee

Olivia Woodruff– Policy Council Liliana Hernandez- Policy Council Ross Hyde – Governing Board Donna Early – Governing Board Brant Allen– Governing Board

• Tamaithia Sartor – Policy Council Chairperson is invited to serve on all committees

B. School Readiness Committee Report

Bernadette Harris stated the meeting was held in Atlanta and the Primary Principal spoke. The committee leader is preparing the spring meeting.

9. Executive Session:

Daniela Salazar moved for Policy Council to go into Executive Session at 9:55 am. Peggy Peters seconded the motion.

Discuss new hires, terminations, transfers and employee matters of a confidential nature.

April Bennett made a motion to come back into regular session at 9:58 am. Jessica Wilson seconded the motion.

10. Required Action from Executive Session:

A motion was made by Daniela Salazar to accept new hires, transfers, and terminations as presented. The motion was seconded by Jessica Wilson. There was no discussion of the matter. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

11. Action Items:

- A. Discuss and/ or Approve Disability Waiver Request Grant# 06CH7174/04

 Jessica Wilson moved to approve the Disability Waiver Request Grant#

 06CH7174/04 as presented. The motion was seconded by April Bennett. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor by signaling aye. The motion carried.
- B. Discuss and/ or Approve moving the May meeting to May 30, 2018

 April Bennett moved to approve moving the May meeting to May 30, 2018 as presented. The motion was seconded by Daniela Salazar. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor by signaling aye. The motion carried.

12. <u>Discussion Items:</u>

None

13. Audience Comments:

None

14. Adjourn:

A motion to adjourn was made by Jessica Wilson at 10:05 am. The motion was seconded by Daniela Salazar.

Minutes Submitted by: Bridgette Grandmaison

Minutes approved by: