Community Services of Northeast Texas, Inc. Head Start Policy Council Meeting Minutes Wednesday February 28, 2018 9:15am Linden Administrative Offices 304 East Houston Linden, Texas

			Sep-17	Nov-17	Dec-17	Jan-18	Feb-18
PC Attendance	Campus	Title	7	7	7	σ.	00
Chairperson - Tamaithia Sartor			Х	Х	Х	Х	X
Vice Chairperson - Olivia Woodruff			Х	Х	Х		X
Secretary - Stacy Guerrero			Х	Х	Х	Х	X
Brenda Swisher	Board Liaison/CC	Representative	х	х	х	х	х
April Bennett	Morris County	Representative			х	х	
Tamaithia Sartor	Atlanta Head Start	Representative	Х	х	х	х	Х
Amber Kimbriel	Atlanta Head Start	Alternate					
Courtney Crow	Bloomburg	Representative		х	х		
Kimberly Jordan	Bloomburg	Alternate				х	
Stacy Guerrero	D/LS	Representative	х	х	х	х	Х
Shayla Peters	D/LS	Alternate					
Tia Goodwin	Hughes Springs	Representative	х		х		
Peggy Peters	Hughes Springs	Alternate				х	
Olivia Woodruff	Linden	Representative	х	х	х		х
Dawn Hansche	Linden	Alternate					
Whitney Williams	Naples	Representative					
Kassi Croley	Naples	Alternate					
Jessica Wilson	New Boston	Representative	Х		х	х	Х
Sondra Lyon	New Boston	Alternate					
Liliana Hernandez	Pittsburg	Representative	х	х	х	х	
Dwight White	Pittsburg	Alternate					
Daniela Salazar	Texarkana	Representative	х	х	х	х	
Gwendolyn "Brandy" Ross	Texarkana	Alternate					

Others in attendance: CSNT Staff: Dan Boyd, Bernadette Harris, Bridgette Grandmaison, Charlotte Hall, Susan Horner, Debra Goodnight-Byrd, Michele Rowe, Frances Evans and Venus Hornbuckle

- 1. <u>Call to Order:</u> The meeting was called to order by Tamaithia Sartor, Policy Council Chairperson at 9:18 am February 28, 2018 in the Linden Administrative Conference Room.
- 2. Recognize New Policy Council Members

None

3. Establishment of Quorum:

Quorum was established with the following Policy Council Members present: Jessica Wilson, Brenda Swisher, Tamaithia Sartor, Stacy Guererro and Olivia Woodruff

4. Approval of Agenda:

Members reviewed the agenda. Olivia Woodruff moved to accept the agenda as presented. The motion was seconded by Brenda Swisher. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

5. Approval of Minutes from January 24, 2018:

Olivia Woodruff moved to approve the minutes of the January 24, 2018 meeting as presented. The motion was seconded by Stacy Guerrero. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

6. Presentations:

A. New Boson Head Start

Venus Hornbuckle, New Boston Head Start, Campus Director gave a presentation on Music and Movement each day throughout the entire school day at New Boston Head Start.

B. Texarkana Head Start

Debra Goodnight-Byrd, Texarkana Family Service Worker, reviewed activities that were done with the children and their families at Paul Laurence Dunbar Early Education Center. A few examples include the following: Tunnel of Hope, Parent make and take, Veteran's Day Program, Family bingo night and a program for Black History Month which included the children learning parts and completing a skit.

C. Training

None

7. Reports:

A. Financial Report - Shelley Mitchell

Dan Boyd gave the Financial Report as presented.

B. Head Start Director Report – Bernadette Harris

Bernadette Harris gave the Head Start Director report as presented.

C. Executive Directors Report

Dan Boyd reviewed information learned at the TACCA Board Meeting with the members.

8. Committee Report:

A. Appoint Committee Members

None

2017-2018 List of Committees

Self-Assessment

Liliana Hernandez- Policy Council Tia Goodwin- Policy Council Donna Early - Governing Board Gus Gustafson- Governing Board

Community Assessment

Olivia Woodruff– Policy Council Gus Gustafson – Governing Board April Bennett– Governing Board

Finance Committee

April Bennett - Policy Council Donna Early – Governing Board Kim Cook– Governing Board Brant Allen – Governing Board

School Readiness Committee

Daniela Salazar - Policy Council
Tia Goodwin – Policy Council
Judge Munkres– Governing Board
Gus Gustafson – Governing Board
Donna Early – Governing Board
Raegan Lee - Governing Board
Brenda Swisher – Governing Board

ERSEA Committee

Tia Goodwin - Policy Council Kim Cook – Governing Board Gus Gustafson – Governing Board April Bennett – Governing Board

Strategic Planning Committee

Jessica Wilson- Policy Council Ross Hyde- Governing Board Gus Gustafson - Governing Board

Health Advisory Committee

Olivia Woodruff– Policy Council Liliana Hernandez- Policy Council Ross Hyde – Governing Board Donna Early – Governing Board Brant Allen– Governing Board

 Tamaithia Sartor – Policy Council Chairperson is invited to serve on all committees

9. Action Items:

A. Discuss and/ or Approve Safety Policy #501

Charlotte Hall reviewed the updated safety policy. Olivia Woodruff moved to approve the Safety Policy #501 as presented. The motion was seconded by Jessica Wilson. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor by signaling aye. The motion carried.

10. Discussion Items:

A. Discuss CLASS Self-Assessment Data 2018

Michele Rowe reviewed the CLASS Self-Assessment Data 2018 as presented.

B. Discuss CIRCLE Assessment Data Wave 2

Frances Evans reviewed the CIRCLE Assessment Data Wave 2 as presented.

C. Discuss Frog Street Assessment Wave 2

Frances Evans reviewed the Frog Street Assessment Wave 2 Data as presented.

D. Discuss Wave 2 School Readiness Performance Data – Circle Assessment

Frances Evans reviewed the Circle Assessment School Readiness Performance Data as presented.

E. Discuss Wave 2 School Readiness Performance Data - Frog Street

Frances Evans reviewed the Frog Street Assessment School Readiness Performance Data as presented.

11. Audience Comments:

None

12. Executive Session:

Olivia Woodruff moved for Policy Council to go into Executive Session at 10:35 am. Stacy Guerrero seconded the motion.

Discuss new hires, terminations, transfers and employee matters of a confidential nature.

Olivia Woodruff made a motion to come back into regular session at 10:42 am. Jessica Wilson seconded the motion.

13. Required Action from Executive Session:

A motion was made by Olivia Woodruff to accept new hires, transfers, and terminations as presented. The motion was seconded by Stacy Guerrero. There was no discussion of the matter. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

14. Adjourn:

A motion to adjourn was made by Olivia Woodruff at 10:43 am. The motion was seconded by Stacy Guerrero.

Minutes Submitted by: Bridgette Grandmaison

Minutes approved by: