Community Services of Northeast Texas, Inc. Head Start Policy Council Meeting Minutes Wednesday June 27, 2018 9:15am Linden Administrative Offices 304 East Houston Linden, Texas

			Sep-17	Nov-17	Dec-17	Jan-18	Feb-18	Mar-18	Apr-18	May-18	Jun-18
PC Attendance	Campus	Title	17	-17	-17	18	18	18		-18	18
Chairperson - Tamaithia Sartor			x	x	х	х	х	х	×	х	x
Vice Chairperson - Olivia Woodruff			x	х	х		x	x		х	x
Secretary - Stacy Guerrero			x	x	x	x	х	x	×	x	x
Brenda Swisher	Board Liaison/CC	Representative	x	х	х	х	х		х		х
April Bennett	Morris County	Representative			х	х		х	x		
Tamaithia Sartor	Atlanta Head Start	Representative	х	х	х	х	х	х	x	x	x
Amber Kimbriel	Atlanta Head Start	Alternate									
Courtney Crow	Bloomburg	Representative		х	х						
Kimberly Jordan	Bloomburg	Alternate				х		х	x		х
Stacy Guerrero	D/LS	Representative	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Shayla Peters	D/LS	Alternate									
Tia Goodwin	Hughes Springs	Representative	х		х						
Peggy Peters	Hughes Springs	Alternate				х					
Olivia Woodruff	Linden	Representative	х	х	х		х	х		х	x
Dawn Hansche	Linden	Alternate									
Whitney Williams	Naples	Representative									
Kassi Croley	Naples	Alternate									
Jessica Wilson	New Boston	Representative	x		х	х	х	х	x		х
Sondra Lyon	New Boston	Alternate									
Liliana Hernandez	Pittsburg	Representative	x	х	x	x					
Martavius Jones	Pittsburg	Representative							х		х
Dwight White	Pittsburg	Alternate									
Daniela Salazar	Texarkana	Representative	x	х	х	х			х	х	
Gwendolyn "Brandy" Ross	Texarkana	Alternate									

- **Others in attendance: CSNT Staff**: Dan Boyd, Bernadette Harris, Bridgette Grandmaison, Charlotte Hall, Shelley Mitchell and Susan Horner
- 1. <u>Call to Order:</u> The meeting was called to order by Tamaithia Sartor, Policy Council Chairperson at 9:18 am June 27, 2018 in the Linden Administrative Conference Room.

2. <u>Recognize New Policy Council Members</u>

None

3. Establishment of Quorum:

Quorum was established with the following Policy Council Members present: Tamaithia Sartor, Olivia Woodruff, Stacy Guerrero, Brenda Swisher, Kimberly Jordan, Jessica Wilson and Martavius Jones.

4. Approval of Agenda:

Members reviewed the agenda. Martavius Jones moved to accept the agenda with removing training from the agenda. The motion was seconded by Olivia Woodruff. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

5. Approval of Minutes from May 30, 2018:

Stacy Guerrero moved to approve the minutes of the May 30, 2018 meeting as presented. The motion was seconded by Jessica Wilson. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

6. Presentations:

A. Training None

7. Reports:

A. Financial Report – Shelley Mitchell

Shelley Mitchell gave the Financial Report as presented.

B. Head Start Director Report – Bernadette Harris

Bernadette Harris gave the Head Start Director report as presented.

C. Executive Directors Report None

8. Committee Report:

A. Appoint Committee Members None

2017-2018 List of Committees

Self-Assessment

Martavius Jones– Policy Council Tia Goodwin– Policy Council Donna Early – Governing Board Gus Gustafson– Governing Board

Community Assessment

Olivia Woodruff– Policy Council Gus Gustafson – Governing Board April Bennett– Governing Board

Finance Committee

April Bennett - Policy Council Donna Early – Governing Board Kim Cook– Governing Board Brant Allen – Governing Board

School Readiness Committee

Daniela Salazar - Policy Council Tia Goodwin – Policy Council Judge Munkres– Governing Board Gus Gustafson – Governing Board Donna Early – Governing Board Raegan Lee - Governing Board Brenda Swisher – Governing Board

ERSEA Committee

Tia Goodwin - Policy Council Kim Cook – Governing Board Gus Gustafson – Governing Board April Bennett – Governing Board

Strategic Planning Committee

Jessica Wilson– Policy Council Ross Hyde– Governing Board Gus Gustafson – Governing Board

Health Advisory Committee

Olivia Woodruff– Policy Council Martavius Jones - Policy Council Ross Hyde – Governing Board Donna Early – Governing Board Brant Allen– Governing Board

Tamaithia Sartor – Policy Council Chairperson is invited to serve on all committees

9. Action Items:

A. Discuss and/ or Approve Head Start Grant#06CH7174/05 – Total Amount \$4,829,115(\$3,863,292 funds and \$965,823 Non- Federal Share) Jessica Wilson moved to approve the Head Start Grant#06CH7174/05 as presented. The motion was seconded by Stacy Guerrero. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor by signaling aye. The motion carried.

B. Discuss and/or Approve 2018 Strategic Plan

- a. Program Goals
- b. 2018-2019 School Readiness Goals
- c. Parent Family and Community Engagement Goals

Martavius Jones moved to approve the 2018 Strategic Plan as presented. The motion was seconded by Olivia Woodruff. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor by signaling aye. The motion carried.

C. Discuss and/ or Approve not having a meeting in July

Olivia Woodruff moved to approve not having a meeting in July as presented. The motion was seconded by Stacy Guerrero. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor by signaling aye.

10. Discussion Items:

A. Discuss Final PIR 2017-2018

Bernadette Harris reviewed the Final PIR 2017-2018 as presented.

11. Audience Comments:

None

12. Executive Session:

Stacy Guerrero moved for Policy Council to go into Executive Session at 9:41 am. Olivia Woodruff seconded the motion.

Discuss new hires, terminations, transfers and employee matters of a confidential nature.

Martavius Jones made a motion to come back into regular session at 9:45 am. Stacy Guerrero seconded the motion.

13. <u>Required Action from Executive Session:</u>

A motion was made by Olivia Woodruff to accept new hires, transfers, and terminations as presented. The motion was seconded by Stacy Guerrero. There was no discussion of the matter. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

14. <u>Adjourn:</u>

A motion to adjourn was made by Stacy Guerrero at 9:46 am. The motion was seconded by Olivia Woodruff.

Minutes Submitted by: Bridgette Grandmaison Minutes approved by: