Community Services of Northeast Texas, Inc. Head Start Policy Council Meeting Minutes Tuesday, March 26, 2019 9:15 am Linden Administration Offices 304 East Houston Street Linden, Texas

			Sep-18	Oct-18	Dec-18	Jan-19	Feb-19	Mar-19
PC Attendance	Campus	Title	18	18	18	19	19	19
Chairperson - Tara Overmyer			х		х	х	х	х
Vice Chairperson - Kimberly Jordan			Х	х		х	x	
Secretary - Cecelia Huff			х		х			X
Brenda Swisher	Board Liaison/CC	Representative	х	х	х		х	х
La'Kimberly Simmons	Atlanta	Representative						
Chelsie McElwee(10/23/18)	Atlanta	Representative		х				
Tamaithia Sartor(1/22/19)	Atlanta	Representative				х	Х	
Eveln Benjamin	Atlanta	Alternate			Х			
Kimberly Jordan	Bloomburg	Representative	х	х		Х	Х	
Hayley Allums	Bloomburg	Alternate	х	х		х		
Sheran West	D/LS	Representative	х	х			Х	х
Kimber Fair	D/LS	Alternate	х					
Ocie Ellison	Hughes Springs	Representative						
Peggy Peters	Hughes Springs	Alternate		х	х		Х	х
Olivia Woodruff	Linden	Representative	х					
Tara Overmyer	Linden	Alternate		х				
Tara Overmyer(12/4/18)	Linden	Representative			х	х	Х	Х
Heather Hoffman (12/4/18)	Linden	Alternate						
Misha Diaz	Naples	Representative						
Sara Finley(10/23/18)	Naples	Representative		х	х			
Victor Diaz	Naples	Alternate						
Ashley Oleson	New Boston	Representative	х		х	х		х
Tim Oleson	New Boston	Alternate	х					
Stacey Armour	Pittsburg	Representative	х	х		х		Х
Adrianna Smith-Hart	Pittsburg	Alternate						
Cecelia Huff	Texarkana	Representative	х		х			Х
Trinchelle Morine	Texarkana	Alternate						

Others in attendance: CSNT Staff: Dan Boyd, Bernadette Harris, Bridgette Parton, Charlotte Hall, Susan Horner, Frances Evans and Debra Jackson.

1. Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by Tara Overmyer, Policy Council Chairperson at 9:29 am, March 26, 2019, in the Linden Administrative Conference Room.

2. Recognize New Policy Council Members:

None

3. Establishment of Quorum:

Quorum was established with the following Policy Council Members present: Tara Overmyer, Brenda Swisher, Peggy Peters, Sheran West, Cecelia Huff, Stacey Armour and Ashley Oleson

4. Approval of Agenda:

Members reviewed the agenda. Tamaithia Sartor moved to accept the agenda. This motion was seconded by Sheran West. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

5. Approval of Minutes from February 26, 2019:

Ashley Oleson moved to accept the minutes of February 26, 2019 meeting as presented. The motion was seconded by Peggy Peters. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

6. Presentations:

A. Texarkana Head Start – Debra Jackson

Debra Jackson, Campus Director for Texarkana Head Start shared a picture slideshow and read a poem about events that happened during the school year at the TISD Campus.

B. Training – OHS Video Homelessness – Bernadette Harris

The members viewed and discussed the "Policy Council as Leaders in Serving Families Experiencing Homelessness" by Dr. Deborah Bergeron OHS Director.

7. Reports:

A. Financial Report

Dan Boyd gave the financial report as presented.

B. Head Start Report

Bernadette Harris gave the Head Start Report as presented.

C. Executive Directors Report

None

8. Committee Reports:

A. Appoint Committee Members

Bridgette Parton notified the members of the upcoming committee meetings.

School Readiness Meeting - May 8, 2019

Self-Assessment Committee Meeting – April 3, 2019

Health Services Advisory Committee Meeting – April 17, 2019

Strategic Planning Committee Meeting – May 7, 2019

List of Committee Participants:

Self-Assessment

- 1. Cecelia Huff
- 2. Brenda Swisher

Community Assessment

1. Ashley Oleson

Finance Committee

1. Sheran West

School Readiness Committee

- 1. Ashley Oleson
- 2. Kimberly Jordan

ERSEA Committee

1. Stacey Armour

Strategic Planning Committee

1. Brenda Swisher

Health Advisory Committee

- 1. Sheran West
- 2. Kimberly Jordan

Policy Council Liaison

1. Ashley Oleson

9. Action Items:

A. Discuss and/or Approve requesting a new 5-Year non-competitive Head Start Grant per 1304.15 (a) (2)

Ashley Oleson moved to approve requesting a new 5-Year non-competitive Head Start Grant per 1304.15 (a) (2) as presented. The motion was seconded by Peggy Peters. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

10. Discussion Items:

A. Discuss Circle Assessment Wave 2

Frances Evans reviewed the Circle Assessment Wave 2 as presented.

B. Discuss Frog Street Assessment Wave 2 Data

Frances Evans reviewed the Frog Street Assessment Wave 2 Data as presented.

C. School Readiness Performance Wave 2 Data

Frances Evans reviewed the School Readiness Performance Wave 2 Data as presented.

D. Discuss CLASS Detailed Monitoring Data

Bernadette Harris reviewed the CLASS Detailed Monitoring Data as presented.

E. Discuss Results of Governance and Leadership Screening

Bernadette Harris gave the members a handout and reviewed the Results of Governance and Leadership Screening as presented.

11. Audience Comments:

The members had questions about transportation at the New Boston and Pittsburg Campuses. Bernadette Harris stated that transportation is decided upon need. Unfortunately we are unable to provide transportation if there is a need for only one child.

12. Executive Session:

Ashley Oleson moved for Policy Council to go into Executive Session at 10:51 am. Peggy Peters seconded the motion.

Discuss new hires, terminations, transfers and employee matters of a confidential nature.

Ashley Oleson made a motion to come back into regular session at 10:54 am. Sheran West seconded the motion.

13. Required Action from Executive Session:

A motion was made by Cecelia Huff to accept new hires, transfers, and terminations as presented. The motion was seconded by Ashley Oleson. There was no discussion of the matter. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

14. Adjourn:

A motion to adjourn was made by Cecelia Huff at 10:55 am. The motion was seconded by Peggy Peters.

Minutes Submitted by: Bridgette Parton

Minutes approved by: