## Community Services of Northeast Texas, Inc. Head Start Policy Council Meeting Minutes Tuesday, January 23, 2024 9:00 am Head Start Management Building 124 North Main Street Linden, Texas 75563

			Sep-23	Oct-23	Dec-23	Jan-24
PC Attendance	Campus	Title	-			
Chairperson - Martavius Jones			X	X	X	X
Vice Chairperson - Megan Hervey Secretary - Cristal Smith			X	X	Х	Х
Cecelia Huff - Outgoing	Cristal Smith		Х	X	Х	
Chairperson	Bowie County	Representative	х			
Teresa Thompson (10/24/23)	Morris County	Representative		Х	Х	
Evelyn Benjamin	Atlanta	Representative	х	х		х
Jessica Nansen	Atlanta	Alternate				
Megan Hervey	Bloomburg	Representative	х	х	х	Х
Gina Chambless	Bloomburg	Alternate				
Krizia Linwood	D/LS	Representative	Х	Х	Х	
Casandra Freeman	D/LS	Alternate				
Cristal Smith	Hughes Springs	Representative	Х	х	Х	
Brittany Smith	Hughes Springs	Alternate			Х	
Alicia Brown	Hughes Springs EHS	Representative				х
	Hughes Springs EHS	Alternate				
Ashley Roberts	Naples	Representative				
Ashley Tucker	Naples	Alternate				
Taylor Adcock	New Boston	Representative	Х	Х		Х
Tammy Wells	New Boston	Alternate				
Martavius Jones	Pittsburg	Representative	х	Х	х	Х
David Chustz	Pittsburg	Alternate				
Jeremy Booker(10/24/23)	Texarkana	Representative		Х	х	
Kyndall Edwards (10/24/23)	Texarkana	Alternate		х	х	

**Others in attendance: CSNT Staff**: Bridgette Parton, Misty Van Hooser, Susan Horner, Robbie Hudson, and Sharda Barber.

#### 1. Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by Martavius Jones, Policy Council Chairperson at 9:01 am, January 23, 2024, in the Head Start Management Building Conference Room.

#### 2. Recognize New Policy Council Members:

None

#### 3. Establishment of Quorum:

Quorum was established with the following Policy Council Members present: Martavius Jones, Megan Hervey, Taylor Adcock, and Evelyn Benjamin. Alicia Brown arrived at 9:09 am.

#### 4. Approval of Agenda:

Members reviewed the agenda. Taylor Adcock moved to accept the agenda as presented. This motion was seconded by Megan Hervey. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

### 5. Approval of Minutes from December 12, 2023:

Megan Hervey moved to accept the minutes of December 12, 2023 meeting as presented. The motion was seconded by Evelyn Benjamin. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

#### 6. Presentations:

#### A. Interview Policy Council - Detailed Monitoring

Robbie Hudson interviewed the members.

#### **B. Eligibility Final Rule Training**

Misty Van Hooser trained the members on the eligibility requirements and procedures according to the final rule.

#### 7. Reports:

#### A. Financial Report

Bridgette Parton gave the Financial Report as presented.

## **B. Head Start Report**

Bridgette Parton gave the Head Start Report as presented.

#### **C. Executive Directors Report**

None

## 8. Committee Reports:

#### A. Appoint Committee Members

None

#### 9. Action Items:

# A. Discuss and/or Approve the Agency applying for another Head Start Five-Year Non-Competitive Project Period beginning December 1, 2024

Bridgette Parton requested permission from the members to apply for the next five-year non-competitive grant cycle with Head Start. Taylor Adcock moved to approve the Agency applying for another Head Start Five-Year Non-Competitive Project Period beginning December 1, 2024, as presented. Alicia Brown seconded the motion. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor by signaling aye. The motion carried.

#### 10. Discussion Items:

None

#### 11. Audience Comments:

None

#### 12. Executive Session:

Megan Hervey moved for Policy Council to go into Executive Session at 9:39 am. Evelyn Benjamin seconded the motion.

## Discuss new hires, terminations, transfers and employee matters of a confidential nature.

Taylor Adcock made a motion to come back into regular session at 9:44 am. Alicia Brown seconded the motion.

#### 13. Required Action from Executive Session:

A motion was made by Megan Hervey to accept new hires, transfers, and terminations as presented. The motion was seconded by Alicia Brown. There was no discussion of the matter. The motion was put to a vote with a majority of members voting in favor of by signaling aye. The motion carried.

#### 14. Adjourn:

A motion to adjourn was made by Megan Hervey at 9:45 am. The motion was seconded by Taylor Adcock.

**Minutes Submitted by: Bridgette Parton** 

Minutes approved by: